GC Randhir Singh-Part 5

When he introduced “GHALIB” 

Yes he was teacher, but with a real flair of genuine person. It was almost after 15 days of regular classes. One day he said that today I will make you listen Ghalib’s best Ghazals and I was like WHAT? How the hell Ghalib can help us learn English. Me along with all other were having very strange kind of feeling but he without waiting for us to clear our thought started with his favorite one ” Hazaron Khwahishen aisi ki har khwahish pe dam nikle, Bahut nikle mere arman lekin phir bhi kam nikle.”

I was awestruck by the way he was enjoying the lyrics because obviously they were out of my level of understanding. But Ghazal after ghazal I got engaged with him, with every ghazal he was explaining meaning also, that made easy for us to understand the concept.

This was my first meeting with one of the world’s best poet GHALIB. Today I know and understand relevance of introducing the thing to class. He was not only a teacher of language he was attempting to teach us life lessons. He was trying to introduce every beautiful thing he has ever encountered in his life, may be that is Ghazal or a popular bollywood number. Every ghazal he introduced then is my favorite now and in known or unknown ways it is helping me a lot in this small passage of life I am passing through.

Have you or anyone ever met such a Mentor who is ready to pass on his life’s best experiences whether they relate to your subject or not? If yes do write to me about him/her. I would love to read about them.

Leave a Reply

